Welcome to the home of the 2021 Swallow Hill Homes F1000 Championship

Michael Watton extended his 2018 Speed Group F1000 Championship lead as he took a clean sweep of wins at Castle Combe.

Never threatened in the first race of the weekend, Watton won from pole by over three seconds with Dan Clowes and Alok Iyengar following home in second and third within a second of each other. Elliot Mitchell had a strong run to fourth despite having missed the last two race meetings with Paul Butcher finishing fifth, a decent result after a being in the wall in qualifying and sustaining significant damage to his car. Another casualty in qualifying was former champion Lee Morgan who was struggling with a misfire, however after getting to the bottom of the issue Morgan was making up places in the race until a grassy moment after passing a back marker hampered his progress. Although finishing in sixth, Morgan had enough pace to break his own lap record with a lap averaging over 105mph!

After taking an early lead in race 2 Morgan looked odds on for a comeback win until engine issues forced him out, which in turn handed Watton the lead of the race. Watton built up a 5 second gap and cruised to his second win of the weekend, again ahead of the previous race’s other two podium finishers. However this time Iyengar got the better of Clowes to finish second after a race long battle, culminating in the pair crossing the finish line with only .165 of a second between them. Butcher went one better and finished in fourth, just ahead of Mitchell, with Adam Walker a distant sixth.

Watton finished off the weekend with a hat trick of wins, as he again was unbeatable in the final race of the meeting with Clowes taking to the podium for the third time just under five seconds adrift. A great drive by rookie, and karting graduate, Rob Welham produced a third place finish as he took to the podium in only his second race meeting in the category which showed great potential. Mitchell, proving he is becoming a strong competitor, finished fourth ahead of returnee and former race winner James Maclachlan. Maclachlan recovered well after a mid-race grassy moment past the pits as other cars, including Walker, had to take evasive action! Walker survived to take another top six finish.

Having taken two strong podium finishes, including a career best second place, Alok Iyengar was named the Sonic Equipment Driver of the Meeting.

Ian Hunter of Team HS Motorsport was awarded the Sonic Equipment Technician of the Meeting, after his race team made a solid return to the championship with James Maclachlan and Richard Gittings who took home the Invitation Cup.



Share This

Get in touch

F1000 Ltd

Nettlebush Finedon Road
Wellingborough, Northamptonshire, NN8 4NY
United Kingdom

  01933 440774